Event: Online Privacy and Security for Mayors

Friday, December 4
12-1:15pm ET/11am-12:15pm CT/10-11:15am MT/9-10:15am PT

Register Today!

Local leaders now face unprecedented scrutiny and online harassment. While engaging in dialogue with residents across social media platforms is a critical part of a mayor’s job, there are also inherent risks in maintaining an online presence. Mayors and elected leaders around the country have experienced high levels of exposure of personal information, with abuses of access to their personal information coming from across the political spectrum. Mayors Innovation Project, in partnership with the Women Mayors’ Network and Equity Agenda, is offering a workshop called Online Privacy and Security for Mayors, to help city leaders manage their risks online.

Join us on December 4 for a session to understand the threats, highest areas of exposure, and key steps to protecting your personal information online. Amanda Bennett and Nicole Lopez of Digital Defense Fund will review the best tools to protect your accounts, identify precautions for keeping private information private; and review key privacy practices in mindfully using social media.

This session is designed for all mayors, city leaders, and staff who support them. Link to access the session will be sent to registrants via email after registering.

Brought to you by: 

Speakers

Amanda Bennett (she/her) is Project Manager at Digital Defense Fund (DDF), a small nonprofit that provides digital security and technology services to the abortion access movement. She provides digital security evaluations, privacy training, and tech support. Before joining the team at DDF, Amanda assisted young people navigating the various barriers to abortion in Texas as the case manager at Jane’s Due Process. Outside of work, she volunteers for the Bridge Collective, which provides rides to abortion appointments and deliveries of free reproductive health supplies in Central Texas.

Nicole Lopez is a software engineer with the Digital Defense Fund where she builds custom software and provides cybersecurity guidance to organizations in the abortion access space. In her spare time, she volunteers as the Board Secretary and Director of Engineering for the Midwest Access Coalition, a non-profit organization providing assistance to those traveling to, from, and within the Midwest to access abortion care. Originally an Arabic major, Nicole learned to code through awesome meetup groups in the Chicago tech community as well as through online courses and tutorials.

Register Today!